We plan and implement strategies for the controlled growth of Roane County’s economy as a unified voice representing the best Tennessee has to offer businesses, citizens and travelers.

Visit Site


We bring growth-oriented businesses with strong fiscal discipline, infrastructure and workforce-ready people to East Tennessee.

Visit Site


We attract travelers who seek unique heritage and the best outdoor recreational experiences to Roane County.

Visit Site


We connect leaders and organizations for the benefit of local and regional business growth.

Visit Site


We empower leaders, parents and students to invest in education, so they are better prepared to fulfill the workforce opportunities of Roane County’s future.

Visit Site


We offer natural beauty, historic charm and low-cost living, distinguishing Roane County as one of the best retirement destinations in the nation.

Visit Site

Annual Business Awards

 Congratulations to the 2022 Annual Business Award Winners!

Presented by the Roane Chamber:

  • Steve and Elaine Patterson, Pattersons Appliances - Paul Cowell Distinguished Service
  • Duncan Family Automotive - Business of the Year
  • Sarah Harrison, Roane County Anti-Drug Coalition - Woman of the Year
  • Michael Dunn Center - Non-Profit of the Year
  • Tori May, Roane Alliance - Paul E. Goldberg Young Professional
  • Becky Gilbert, Tennessee College of Applied Technology - Ambassador of the Year

Presented by the Roane County Industrial Development Board:

  • Roane Specialized Services - Industry of the Year

Thank you to the Sponsors of these coveted awards:

Annual Business Awards sponsored by Dr. Julian Ahler
Ambassador of the Year sponsored by Kim Bell Medspa in Kingston

Digital Media provided by Matt Waters, Roane State Community College

Here are a few links for more about the award winners:
Award Videos, provided by Matt Waters, Roane State Community College

Nominate Outstanding Businesses & Leaders

The Roane Chamber recognizes outstanding businesses and individuals in Roane County each year during the Annual Roane Alliance Gala.   They must be a Chamber Member or work for a Chamber Member Business and fit the criteria provided in the award's nomination form to be considered for the Roane Chamber's Business Awards, however, the Roane County Industrial Development Board, will give higher value for a Chamber Member nomination, but does not require the industry to be a member to win.

Forms are available in the spring of each year and winners will be selected at least a month prior to the Gala.  For questions or a specific request, email the Chamber at



The Paul Cowell Distinguished Service Award has been given out since 1970, and is certainly the most prestigious of the awards. The winner should demonstrate outstanding performance or unusual contribution to Roane County and to their business or community.  

The Business of the Year should significantly and positively affect economic progress in Roane County.  And whether they be a longstanding or new business, they should be well respected in their field and within the community.   

The Woman of the Year should be significantly involved in business, professional, educational, community and civic affairs; demonstrate outstanding performance or unusual contribution to Roane County and to her business or community; and be highly respected in her field.

The Paul E. Goldberg Young Professional Award was created in honor of it's namesake in 2010 for someone under 40 who demonstrates strong leadership skills and a love for Roane County.  Paul E. Goldberg was a Roane State Community College professor who was instrumental in starting Leadership Roane County.

The Roane County Industrial Development Board also honors a top industry each year at the Gala.  Chamber membership is not required to be nominated, but members will be given preferential consideration when selecting the winner.

The Industry of the Year should be a manufacturer or distributor of goods and services, and whose customers traditionally are other businesses and on a larger scale of a traditional business.   This sets them apart from the Business of the Year award mentioned above, but like that award nominee, should significantly and positively affect economic progress in Roane County and be well respected in their field and within the community. 

 The Roane Chamber Ambassadors also nominate and recognize a top ambassador at the Gala.  The Ambassador of the Year winner is significantly involved in Chamber affairs and demonstrates outstanding performance and contributions, specifically to the Ambassador Team, to their business or profession and to Roane County.   You must be a member of the Roane Chamber Ambassadors to nominate one of your peers.  A sponsorship is available to a Chamber Member business or individual for this coveted award to cover the cash award also given and comes with 2 Roane Alliance Gala tickets.

Paul Cowell Distinguished Service Nomination Form (pdf)

Business of the Year Nomination Form (pdf)

Woman of the Year Nomination Form (pdf)

Paul E. Goldberg Young Professional Nomination Form (pdf)

Industry of the Year Nomination Form (pdf)

Ambassador of the Year Nomination Form (pdf) 

 Annual Business Award Winner History - Congratulations to All!